You are here: Home / About Us / Board

RVTS Board

Dr Tom Doolan - Chair

Tom Doolan has been practising rural medicine at Kilcoy in Queensland for the last 38 years. He has served RVTS in a governance capacity for most of its existence.  He was the Chairman of the RDAA Task Force for the Establishment of ACRRM and foundation Honorary Director of Education of ACRRM from its inception in 1997 to 2011.

Tim Francis

Dr Tim Francis - Deputy Chair

Tim Francis is a rural general practitioner and GP anaesthetist working in the Nambucca Valley on the mid-noth coast of NSW. A one-time deputy chair of GPRA, Tim is now also a director of North Coast NSW General Practice Training and North Coast NSW Primary Health Care Network.

Tom Heaney

Dr Tom Heaney
MBBS, PhD (medicine), MHA, DRACOG, BSc (hons)

Tom Heaney has blended work both in rural General Practice and Emergency Medicine since graduating from Melboune University in 1987. He worked initially as a solo rural GP in Henty and Wagga Wagga NSW before moving to a larger practice on the Mornington Penninsula VIC. Tom has been involved in the improvement of medical education through his role as a Director of Clinical Training with the Post Graduate Medical Council of NSW and as a team leader accrediting hospital training positions. He has an interest in health policy and research, including a PhD in Medicine, and a MHA at UNSW. He is an enthusiastic RVTS supervisor.

Dr Vlad Matic

Vlad Matic has more than twenty years of remote, rural and regional general practice and procedural (Anaesthetics) Visiting Medical Officer experience.  His practice in Walgett NSW won the 2009 RACGP NSW/ACT and National General Practice of the Year awards.  Throughout his working life Vlad has actively championed the cause of improved health outcomes for rural and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples; contributing to Divisions of General Practice boards at local, state and national level.  Vlad was instrumental in setting up RHEDWEST, a Dubbo based Regional Training Provider, becoming its inaugural Chair in 2002.  After many years as a mentor for John Flynn Scholars, Vlad has more recently been an RVTS Supervisor. Vlad is a Board Member of the North Queensland PHN, sits on the WentWest Clinical Council and has been appointed to the Practice Incentive Program Advisory and Technical Working Groups.

Dr Eugene Wong

Eugene Wong is a retrieval specialist and rural GP working with the Royal Flying Doctor Service (Queensland).  He has predominantly lived and worked rurally, including in Katherine, Longreach and Thursday Island.  He has held multiple Medical Education roles over the years with Tropical Medical Training, RFDS and ACRRM.  Eugene is particularly interested in health outcomes among disadvanted populations, medical leadership & culture, and safety and quality in health care.


Dr Rodney Omond
MBBS FRACGP Dip Obs RANZCOG PGradDipHlthEc DipLeadMan GradCertClinEd

Rod Omond ran his own practice with a colleague from 1996 to 2003 in Newcastle, NSW, and for three years was Chair of the Hunter Urban Division Board. Prior to that he had gained extensive hospital experience and had worked in the Solomon Islands for two years. He reconnected with rural medicine on a trip around Australia in 2007-2008. His current work in Darwin as the Remote Health SRMP Education and Training includes regular clinical work on the Tiwi Islands. Rod is also Medical Director of Low Acuity Medical Retrievals, with policy oversight for the retrieval service of Top End Health Service. During this time he has been a Board member for RACGP Rural and Deputy Chair of the Ethics Committee for the NT Department of Health (Top End) and Menzies School of Health Research